Major Session By The Indian National Congress

Major Session By The Indian National Congress-The Indian National Congress (INC) was established in 1885 and it grew to become one of the most important political parties in pre-independence India, Allan Octavian Hume, Dadabhai Naoroji and Dinshaw Edulji Wacha. Indian National Congress was founded on 28 December 1885, The sessions of the Indian National Congress were held at the gap of a year, In this article, we have published a list of all the sessions of the Indian national congress before the Indian Independence 1885 to 1947.

Important Sessions By The Indian National Congress

11885❖Location – Bombay.
❖President – Vyomesh Chandra Banerjee twice President (1885, 1892)
❖72 delegates participated.
❖The name Indian National Congress was named on the suggestion of Dadabhai Naoroji.
21886❖Location – Calcutta.
❖President – Dadabhai Naoroji (became the President of Congress thrice in 1886, 1893, 1906)
31887❖Location – Madras.
❖President – Badruddin Tayyab (was the first Muslim President of Congress)
41888❖Location – Allahabad.
❖President – George Yule (First English President)
51896❖Location – Calcutta.
❖President – Rahimtulla Sayani.
❖The national song Vande Mataram was sung for the first time in this convention.
61905❖Location – Varanasi.
❖President – Gopal Krishna Gokhale.
❖Supporting the Swadeshi Movement.
71906❖Location – Calcutta.
❖President – Dadabhai Naoroji.
❖The word Swaraj was used for the first time in this convention.
81907❖Location – Surat.
❖President – Rash Behari Ghosh.
❖Partition of Congress in this session.
91911❖Location – Calcutta.
❖President – Vishan Narayan Dar.
❖Jana Gana Mana was sung for the first time in this convention.
101916❖Location – Lucknow.
❖President – Ambikcharan Mazumdar.
❖Lucknow Pact (separate election accepted) between Congress-League in this session
Moderate party and hot party united.
111917❖Location – Calcutta.
❖President – Annie Besant (became the first woman president of Congress)
❖Three women became the President of Congress.
121919❖Location – Amritsar.
❖President – Motilal Nehru ( twice became President 1919, 1928)
131920❖Location – Nagpur.
❖President – Veer Raghavachari.
❖The resolution of the non-cooperation movement was passed.
❖For the first time, the Congress talked about the formation of provinces on linguistic basis.
141924❖Location – Belgaum (Karnataka)
❖President – Mahatma Gandhi (Only once)
151929❖Location – Lahore.
❖President – Jawaharlal Nehru.
❖Purna Swaraj resolution was passed in this session.
❖It was decided to celebrate Independence Day on 26 January 1930.
161931❖Location – Karachi.
❖President – Vallabhbhai Patel.
❖In this session a resolution regarding Fundamental Rights was passed.
❖In this session, Gandhi had said that Gandhi can die, but not Gandhism.
171936❖Location – Lucknow.
❖President – Jawaharlal Nehru.
❖In this session, Nehru said that I am a socialist.
181937❖Location – Faizpur.
❖President – Jawaharlal Nehru.
❖For the first time the Congress session was held in a village.
191938❖Location – Haripura (Gujarat)
❖President – Subhas Chandra Bose.
❖National Planning Committee was constituted in this session.
201939❖Location – Tripuri (Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh)
❖President – Subhash Chandra Bose.
❖In this session, due to dispute with Gandhiji, Subhash resigned and Rajendra Prasad was made the president.
211940❖Location – Ramgarh.
❖President – Abul Kalam Azad.
❖He was the President of Congress for the longest time from 1940-1945.
221947❖Congress session of 1947.
❖President – J.B. Kripalani.

Major Session By The Indian National Congress.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *